2nd Joint Committe under Mauritius Turkey Free Trade Agreement

The second meeting of the Joint Committee under the Mauritius-Turkey Free Trade Agreement was held virtually on 20 April 2021.


The Turkish delegation was led Mr. Atilla Bastirmaci, Deputy Director General, Directorate General for International Agreements and EU Affairs, Ministry of Trade.   The Mauritian delegation was led by Mr. Narainduth BOODHOO, Director, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and International Trade and comprised representatives from relevant Ministries and institutions including, EDB, Business Mauritius, MCCI, MEXA amongst others.


During the meeting, the Parties agreed, inter-alia to expand the scope of the Agreement to include additional products, to step up promotional and sensitisation activities, to collaborate in key sectors including textiles and address impediments to trade.  The meeting further agreed to the signing of a Customs Mutual Administrative Assistance Agreement.  The Parties will also exchange their requests for enhanced market access within one month for negotiations.



International Trade Division

22 April 2021